Friday, January 05, 2007

Boys State

Spring 1959. Forrest City Times Herald
(Retyped from the original article ...including typos... by Butch Ford '60)

American Legion Announces Boys State Delegates

The American Legion, King Beazley Post No. 4, takes pleasure in announcing the names of boys with their sponsors to Boys State which will be held at Camp Robinson in Little Rock, Saturday, May 30 through Saturday June 6, 1959. The Legion would like to take this opportunity to thank the civic clubs, business firms, and individuals for their generosity and cooperation in sponsoring a boy and giving him the opportunity to participate in this splendid youth program. The following are the delegates and their sponsors: Don Kessinger, Lions Club; Mike Deaderick, Junior Chamber of Commerce; Danny Harrelson, Chamber of Commerce; Ronnie Danehower, Woodruff Electric Co.Doug Smith, East Arkansas Oil Co.; Phil Hicky, Rotary Club; Duane Stephens, American Legion; Philip Walker, Zero Butane Gas Co.; Stevie Stevens, Coca Cola Bottling Co.Billy Lieblong, E. Snyder and Co.; Fred Swan, Fred Swan; Bill Clark, Pepsi Cola Bottling Co.; Tommy Ferguson, Ferguson Drug Store; Mike Graham, American Legion.George Trusty, St. Francis Material Co.; Joe McCown, Crawley-Cogburn Clinic; Larry Fleming, Vaccaro-Grobmyer Lumber Co.; Donald Simpson, American Legion; John Oskowis, American Legion. James Irwin, Yale and Towne Manufacturing Co.; Bobby Doty, Planters Bank and Trust Co.; Bernard Ford, Nesbitt Bottling Co.; Willie(sp.) Kent Montgomery, Kiwanis Club; Ollie Warren, Carl Campbell. Bob White, unfortunately, was disqualified as a delegate due to a broken arm.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home